Skip to main content

Impacts of the Food Safety Modernization Act on Diversified Organic Vegetable Farms

Join eOrganic for a webinar on the impacts of the Food Safety Modernization Act on Diversified Organic Vegetable Farms, by Erin Silva of the University of Wisconsin. The webinar takes place on March 29, 2016 at 2PM Eastern Time (1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time). The presentation is free and open to the public, and advance registration is required.

About the Webinar

For produce farms, 2016 marks the beginning of timelines established for operations to come into compliance with the FDA’s regulations associated with the Food Safety Modernization Act. While it still remains unclear as to how many aspects of the regulation will look β€œon the ground”, this webinar will address what diversified organic vegetable farmers need to begin thinking about with respect to moving forward toward compliance.

About the Presenter

Erin Silva is an Assistant Professor in University of Wisconsin-Madison’s Department of Plant Pathology and State Extension Specialist in Organic and Sustainable Cropping Systems. A major focus of her Extension programming includes on-farm food safety for diversified vegetable farmers.

System Requirements

Please connect to the webinar 10 minutes in advance, as the webinar program will require you to download software. To test your connection in advance, go here. You can either listen via your computer speakers or call in by phone (toll call). Java needs to be installed and working on your computer to join the webinar. If you are running Mac OSU with Safari, please test your Java at http://java.com/en/download/testjava.jsp prior to joining the webinar, and if it isn't working, try Firefox or Chrome. For more detailed system requirments, go here.

http://articles.extension.org/pages/73471

Who Is Attending

Add Comment

Comments (0)

Post

About the Extension Foundation

The Extension Foundation is a non-profit designed to be the engine fueling U.S. Cooperative Extension’s advancement in making a more visible and measurable impact in support of education outreach from land-grant universities/colleges located in every state and territory. Extension Foundation is embedded in the U.S. Cooperative Extension System and serves on the Extension Committee on Organization and Policy (ECOP). The Foundation provides an array of opportunities for Extension professionals that foster innovation creation, the adoption of innovations at member institutions, and increased impact of Extension programs. This work is supported by your membership dollars and funding from USDA-NIFA, grant no. 2020-41595-30123. For more information on Extension Foundation membership, please visit extension.org. You can also find our Terms of Servicee here

© 2021 Extension Foundation. All rights reserved.

×
×
×
Link copied to your clipboard.
×