Dairy Fat--What's in it for the Consumer?

Webinar

Join eOrganic for the second webinar this winter on milk fatty acids! In this webinar, presenters Jana Kraft and Allison Unger of the University of Vermont will discuss the fatty acids in dairy milk and their potential health benefits. The webinar takes place on May 27th, 2020 at 2PM Eastern Time, 1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time. It's free and open to the public, and advance registration is required.

Register now at https://oregonstate.zoom.us/we...IjX5feRx-OQfM4DfRTjw

About the Webinar

Dairy fat is undeniably the most complex and diverse dietary fat source in the human diet, comprising hundreds of different fatty acids and fatty acid derivatives that fulfill diverse structural, metabolic, and functional roles within the human body. Moreover, the fatty acid composition of dairy fat is distinct because approximately 70% of the total fatty acids are saturated as the result of ruminal biohydrogenation of dietary unsaturated fatty acids. Over the past two decades, most scientific and public attention has focused on saturated fatty acids. Yet, dairy fat contains a large variety of unique minor fatty acids or individual fatty acids that are generated by rumen microbes and the mammary gland. Recent studies indicate that these unique dairy-derived fatty acids possess unusual biological properties and health benefits beyond their basic nutritional value. The webinar will summarize the current knowledge on the bioactivity of dairy-derived fatty acids with emphasis on potential health benefits. Additionally, we will present data from a recently conducted study comparing the fatty acid composition and content, on a per serving basis, between the three types of retail milk (i.e., conventional milk, organic milk, and omega-3 fortified milk) in the Northeast U.S.

 

Who Is Attending

Add Comment

Comments (0)

Post

About the eXtension Foundation

The eXtension Foundation is a membership-based non-profit designed to be the engine fueling U.S. Cooperative Extension’s advancement in making a more visible and measurable impact in support of education outreach from land-grant universities/colleges located in every state and territory. eXtension is embedded in the U.S. Cooperative Extension System and serves on the Extension Committee on Organization and Policy (ECOP). eXtension provides an array of opportunities for Extension professionals that foster innovation creation, the adoption of innovations at member institutions, and increased impact of Extension programs. This work is supported by your membership dollars and funding from USDA-NIFA, grant no. 2019-41595-30123. For more information on eXtension membership, please visit eXtension.org. You can also find our Terms of Service here

© 2020 eXtension Foundation. All rights reserved.

×
×
×
×
Link copied to your clipboard.
×