Skip to main content

Dehulling Ancient Grains Webinar

Join eOrganic for a webinar on dehulling ancient grains, presented by the research team of the NIFA OREI project Value-added Grains for Local and Regional Food Systems. The webinar will take place on Tuesday, November 18 at 2PM Eastern Time, 1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time. The webinar is free and open to the public and advance registration is required.

Presenters: Brian Baker, Nigel Tudor, Elizabeth Dyck, Frank Kutka

About the Webinar

One roadblock to the increased production of the β€œancient” grains einkorn, emmer, and spelt is the need for dehulling capacity, since these grains do not thresh free of the hull in the combine. This webinar will provide an overview of the methods used to dehull grain and the components needed in a dehulling system. Onefocus will be on the current dehulling options for both larger-scale and small-scale growers, includingcusto m dehulling, new and used dehullers, modification of milling/cleaning equipment to dehull, and building one’s own dehuller. The webinar will also focus on the economics of dehulling, including consideration of ancient grain yield, dehulling efficiency and costs, and prices for hulled and dehulled grain.

Register now at https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/761521241



http://www.extension.org/pages/71272

Who Is Attending

Add Comment

Comments (0)

Post

About the Extension Foundation

The Extension Foundation was formed in 2006 by Extension Directors and Administrators. Today, the Foundation partners with Cooperative Extension through liaison roles and a formal plan of work with the Extension Committee on Organization and Policy (ECOP) to increase system capacity while providing programmatic services, and helping Extension programs scale and investigate new methods and models for implementing programs. The Foundation provides professional development to Cooperative Extension professionals and offers exclusive services to its members. In 2020 and 2021, the Extension Foundation has awarded 85% of its direct funding back to the Cooperative Extension System, 100% of funds are used to support Cooperative Extension initiatives. 

This technology is supported in part by New Technologies for Agriculture Extension grant no. 2020-41595-30123 from the USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture and membership funding. Any opinions, findings, conclusions, or recommendations expressed in the content are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the view of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. For more information, please visit extension.org. You can view the terms of useat extension.org/terms.

×
×
×
Link copied to your clipboard.
×