Skip to main content

Breaking Bad Habits: Integrating Crop Diversity into High Tunnel Production Systems

Join eOrganic for a webinar to learn what crops other than tomatoes can be grown in high tunnels, and how to integrate cover crops into your high tunnel rotations! The presenter is Cary Rivard of Kansas State University and it takes place on February 19th, 2019 at 11AM Pacific, 12PM Mountain, 1PM Central and 2PM Eastern Time, and will use Zoom.

Regiter now at https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_n8DufEGBT8O1BU9tNdj4ew

About the Webinar

High tunnel production has continued to grow in the midwest providing an engine for local food production. However, many growers choose to utilize these structures primarily (or even exclusively) for tomato production leading to very little room for crop rotation. At K-State, we have been working on research projects to determine the feasibility of high tunnels for other high-value crops like strawberries, sweet potato slips, melons, and others in addition to cover cropping strategies for high tunnel growers. During this presentation, we will explore some of these options and discuss different strategies for incorporating diversity into high tunnel production.

About the Presenter

Cary Rivard is an Associate Professor and Director of the Kansas State University Olathe Horticulture Center. His research program focuses on vegetable production in high tunnels and he oversees the www.hightunnels.org website.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?...8qeY8fjzu4

Who Is Attending

Add Comment

Comments (0)

Post

About the Extension Foundation

The Extension Foundation is a membership-based non-profit designed to be the engine fueling U.S. Cooperative Extension’s advancement in making a more visible and measurable impact in support of education outreach from land-grant universities/colleges located in every state and territory. Extension Foundation is embedded in the U.S. Cooperative Extension System and serves on the Extension Committee on Organization and Policy (ECOP). The Foundation provides an array of opportunities for Extension professionals that foster innovation creation, the adoption of innovations at member institutions, and increased impact of Extension programs. This work is supported by your membership dollars and funding from USDA-NIFA, grant no. 2020-41595-30123. For more information on Extension Foundation membership, please visit extension.org. You can also find our Terms of Servicee here

© 2021 Extension Foundation. All rights reserved.

×
×
×
Link copied to your clipboard.
×